Cats on Quilts, Trumpet Players, and Kite Flyers

Riley Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Riley
Oil on Canvas
8″ x 10″

When Riley passed earlier this year, I was asked to make a commemorative painting for his family.  His portrait is a combination of several photos, resulting in a picture of him laying in one of his favorite spots at home.  The texture of his coat really jumps out at me, I was pleased with the way it turned out.  His emerald green eyes were also a treat to capture.

Freddie Hubbard Oil on Canvas 16" x 20"

Freddie Hubbard
Oil on Canvas
16″ x 20″

Jazz legend, Freddie Hubbard, takes center stage in my color portrait inspired by a popular black-and-white image. I watched several videos of Freddie in action and wanted to meld what I knew about the artist with an iconic image.  Passionate playing seemed his style, so I made him play with greater ‘oomph’ in my piece, bending into the trumpet and furrowing his brow.

Karen's Painting Oil on Canvas 8" x 10"

Karen
Oil on Canvas
8″ x 10″

A few summers ago, I regularly attended picnics on the grounds of Bryn Athyn Cathedral in Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania.  The scenes created there were testimony to the simple life led in a small country community outside of the city.  My summer nights in Bryn Athyn were spent playing Bocci on the lawn, exchanging recipes, star-gazing, and flying kites.  I hope to create many more paintings of my experiences there!

Leave a Reply

